IUI #1 is Canceled

I just found out yesterday that my first IUI cycle was canceled because I responded too well to Clomid. My protocol for this cycle was Clomid 100mg, days 3-7. While I’m feeling pretty down about having to cancel our first treatment cycle after waiting so long to get to this point, I’m trying to see the silver lining and hoping my response is a sign that we’ll have a successful cycle in the near future. Here’s a wrap up of this cycle:

-CD9 ultrasound – 16mm and 15mm follicles with a bunch of 12s and 13s. My nurse said this was a great response and as long as they all didn’t continue to grow that we should be ready for the hcg trigger on day 11. We didn’t start the Gonal f because it wasn’t needed. She also said it was fine to continue having sex, just not on the night before IUI.

-CD11 ultrasound – 1 at 19mm, 4 at 16mm, 1 at 15mm. Doctor called in the afternoon and tells me not to trigger and that this cycle needs to be canceled because I responded too well and am at risk for high order multiples. He asks me if we’ve had sex and sounds a little concerned when I say yes, the nurse said it was fine to. Yikes!

imagesSomething that struck me is how strange (not to mention cruel) it is to go from being “infertile” to immediately having to worry about a Jon and Kate + Eight “high order multiples” situation (read more here). After I got the call from the doctor saying we needed to cancel the IUI and that we should abstain from sex for the remainder of this cycle, I started poking around on message boards to see how others handled this situation. It is very tempting to have sex anyway against doctors orders, knowing that you are extremely fertile for possibly the first time ever, but for me the risks are way too high.

Because the nurse said it was fine to have sex on CD 9, we did. Now based on what the doctor told me, there is a slight chance that we could get pregnant, especially if I ovulate six eggs. So fingers crossed for only one sperm with lots of endurance. If not, it’s more waiting until we can try again next month.

 

4 thoughts on “IUI #1 is Canceled

  1. LOL, you’re so right. It’s “funny” how one minute you’re “infertile” then the next you’re worried about multiples. Sorry your cycle got cancelled, I know what a bummer that must have been!!

  2. Pingback: IUI Update, With a Side of Cyst | no one asks about my eggs

  3. Pingback: IUI Survival Guide | no one asks about my eggs

Leave a Reply

