Antral Follicle Count

I had my cycle day 3 ultrasound and bloodwork yesterday. The ultrasound tech said she saw 6 follicles on one ovary and 5 on the other. This threw me off because last cycle I had 21 total follicles on cycle day 3. Anyone else have such a large difference between cycles? Could it have to do with the tech as well? Last month the tech seemed to take awhile to thoroughly count everything, while this tech looked very quickly and said “everything looks good!” My nurse said 11 is still a good number, especially since this time we want less to grow so we don’t have to cancel another cycle. Even with good results – no cysts after overstimming – I can still find something to worry about. 🙂

3 thoughts on “Antral Follicle Count

  1. Hmmm. Don’t think I’ve ever had such a big difference, but I also don’t retain my stats very well! Let’s just go with what the nurse says–if she’s happy, you can be happy, too!

  2. I have had this big of a difference and it was technician…..maybe your tech was having a bad day. But less is more when it comes to IUI!

Leave a Reply

