The Results Are In

I went in for my beta blood work this morning, and this afternoon my nurse called to confirm what I already suspected: Our first IUI cycle was a failure. This is very depressing, but to be honest, I got a lot of my tears and the disappointment out of my system earlier in the week after my tests continued to come up negative. Now I’m looking ahead to our next cycle. Tonight I’ll stop the Prometrium and Estrace and wait for my period to arrive. For better or worse, after a certain amount of time trying, you really do start to assume you won’t be pregnant, so the disappointment isn’t quite the same as it used to be.

I’m going to try my best to have a fun weekend with my hubby and our extended family and not fret about our first official treatment failure. I’m thinking a few large margaritas poolside will be help make this a reality. Hubby leaves for international travel for work next week, so this next IUI cycle will be on my own (with frozen sperm!) which should be interesting. Maybe we’ll be telling our future son or daughter that they were conceived while their dad was in Japan. Would be quite the story!

14 thoughts on “The Results Are In

  1. sorry to hear 😦 i get what you mean about the disappointment not being quite as bad as with previous cycles. it just all becomes so draining. some days, i feel like i am just going through the motions of these procedures until i end up at IVF.

    • Thank you! I know what you mean. At least with IVF, the possibility of success is so much higher that it seems warranted to allow yourself to be more emotionally invested.

  2. Really sorry to hear this, I know how tough the failed cycles are! I hope you enjoy your margaritas this weekend, you deserve it!! Relax, and have a wonderful weekend. I agree it would be a fun story to tell your kid if you conceived him using your husbands frozen sperm while he was in Japan!!

Leave a Reply

