Keeping Busy in the Two Week Wait

We had our second official IUI on June 7 (third round of meds, but our first cycle was canceled). I went a little crazy toward the end of the two week wait last cycle, and this time I’ve been trying SO HARD to keep myself busy and sane! I’m now at 10dpiui and starting to feel down. I tested out my trigger shot yesterday, and today there was no denying it was a BFN. I wish I could stop testing, but I really don’t think I can. I’ve never been into surprises and like to have all possible information at my fingertips. I would much rather be prepared than wait for the dreaded call from my nurse to know if this cycle worked. Anyone else feel this way?

Here’s what I’ve been doing to try to keep myself busy the past 1.5 weeks:

Elliptical and Reading
I’ve been working out on our elliptical every other day. I miss running, but my nurse suggested taking it easy with exercise during treatment cycles. I have been getting a lot of reading done this way! Any summer reading suggestions?

New Bathroom
We’re in the beginning stages of remodeling our en suite master bath. I’ve been slacking on the planning, so hubby and I headed to the tile store to get some ideas and get the ball rolling.

Framing
I’ve been “working on” a photo gallery in our upstairs hallway for a very long time. I finally found some really interesting frames at Target (on sale!) and now I need to figure out all the photos. Will post pictures of the final product!

Travel Planning
We’re planning a trip to Scotland and Ireland for August with my parents and I need to get moving on the itinerary. I’m my family’s unofficial travel agent, which I secretly love, so I’m excited to get my travel guides in the mail and get to work.

Furry House Guest
This little cutie has been staying with us this week while my parents are on vacation. Don’t you just love old dogs? We’re getting a feel for what it would be like to have two dogs!

Toby the lab

Toby the lab

 

 

12 thoughts on “Keeping Busy in the Two Week Wait

  1. My clinic doesn’t even do beta testing for IUIs unless you a) have a positive hpt or b) have a negative hpt but don’t get your period in a timely manner. I’m fine with that-I don’t want to pay for one if I’m not pregnant!

  2. This is the first time I will go to a lab for a pregnancy test. At this point, I don’t intend to test early because pregnancy tests give me post traumatic stress disorder. I don’t know how I will feel if I get a negative over the phone. I guess I’ll find out.

  3. You have a very handsome house guest 🙂 I didn’t test at home last time and I am not going to this time. It takes every single piece of willpower I have but I will wait 🙂

  4. What a sweet pup! I am looking for some good summer reading too. My husband and I listened to Divergent on our last road trip (I hate books on tape). Here are a few on my summer reading list: The Fault in our Stars, Life, Animated, and A Little Pregnant.

    • Thanks! I read the Divergent books and liked them. The Fault in Our Stars is on my list, too! I just read The Husband’s Secret and thought it was pretty good.

  5. Pingback: Keeping Busy in the Two Week Wait, Part Deux | no one asks about my eggs

Leave a Reply

