Goodbye Clomid, Hello Femara

I had my cycle day 3 appointment this morning for my fourth IUI cycle. My RE is switching me from Clomid to Femara due to Clomid thinning my uterine lining. Last month it was at 6mm on day 11, and they want to see it at 8mm+. The tech saw 11 measurable antral follicles on my scan, so hoping that I don’t overstimulate like I did my first IUI cycle. The PA saying “oh my, now don’t you all grow” wasn’t exactly comforting.

Anyone have good or bad experience with Femara vs. Clomid? I didn’t have too many symptoms from Clomid besides some night sweats and being a little moody. I had to sign a waiver because Femara isn’t FDA-approved for use for ovulation induction/super-ovulation (it is a breast cancer drug). From what I’ve read it sounds like it is widely used with few side effects.

11 thoughts on “Goodbye Clomid, Hello Femara

  1. I made the switch to Femara as well – but because I had no response to the clomid. This is my first cycle on the Femara & I have no complaints so far! I am on a high-ish dose (7.5mg/day). I may have had a few hot flashes – but it could also be because it is in the 90’s outside. Who knows…..either way no complaints! I didn’t have to sign a waiver – that is interesting! I will also say that my insurance covered the Femara & didn’t cover any of the clomid. =) Good luck!!

  2. I was never on Femara, just Gonal F, but I was on clomid for 6 months and it didn’t do anything for me. Other than make me a very angry person! Can’t give feedback on the Femara but I hope that it does the trick for you!

  3. I haven’t tried Clomid. I get hot flashes and headaches from Femera, but the RE says both are rare. Good luck to you!

Leave a Reply

