Keeping Busy in the Two Week Wait, Part Deux

Last IUI cycle, I had grand plans of keeping busy in the TWW. I did a pretty good job of distracting myself, and when my period started, I didn’t feel like my world was crashing. This time around, I’ve let myself slip a bit and have found myself in that dark place once again. Time to revisit all the things I should be doing instead of obsessing!

Working Out/Reading
I’ve been struggling to keep up with working out lately. I stopped running in May and I miss it a lot. My nurse advised that I take it easy with my workouts and said that running in the summer heat would not be great during our treatments. Instead, I started working out on our elliptical. I was doing ok for a while, but then got bored with it. If I’m being totally truthful, I’ve just been slacking and using our treatments as an excuse. I MUST get back into the swing of things, for my physical and mental health! I’ve been slacking on my reading, too. I finished The Fault in Our Stars over the Fourth of July. It was a good, quick read, but grab your tissues! My brother-in-law is an author and I’m currently reading the beta version of his second novel. You can check out his first novel, Earthman Jack vs. The Ghose Plant here. It’s an entertaining read – sort of like Harry Potter meets Star Wars. If you’re into young adult Sci-Fi, definitely check it out!

Earthman Jack and The Ghost Planet

Earthman Jack and The Ghost Planet

Framing
I made some progress on my framing projects. I updated the travel photos in the frames in our guest bedroom, and also hung the wall gallery in our upstairs hallway. I ordered some prints for those frames, and now I just have to pick the ones I like best and put them in the frames. Here are some pictures of the progress.

Frame gallery sans photos

Frame gallery sans photos

Frames in our guest bedroom

Frames in our guest bedroom

Gardening
This year was supposed to be the year I honed my green thumb. This has been a pretty major fail, as our garden in the backyard is a mess. My pappy was an amazing gardener and I have really happy memories of summers picking sweet corn and raspberries, and getting to choose my own pumpkin in the fall. Maybe gardening is a good retirement hobby? 🙂 BUT, I did manage to grow this beauty! I experimented with Dahlia bulbs in the spring and they are finally blooming. Our Crape Myrtle tree is also in blooming and looking beautiful.

Beautiful dahlia in my garden

Beautiful Dahlia in my garden

Crape Myrtle in full bloom

Crape Myrtle in full bloom

More QT with my Furry Friends
How can you be sad when you have these two cuties to hang out with? My parents dog is visiting again while they are on vacation. So fun to have two pups in the house!

Little T and Big T

Little T and Big T

Travel Planning
One big win in my book – I’ve finishing planning our trip to Scotland and Ireland! I’m really looking forward to getting away and spending time with family without the burden of fertility treatments. We’re spending time in Edinburgh, the Scottish Highlands, and the Isle of Skye, before traveling to Dublin to see Penn State play their season opener at Croke Park. My dad, husband, and I are all alums and it will be great to experience this game together! I’m not pregnant by then, there will be many whiskys and beers to sample!

Eilean Donan Castle, Scotland (click for photo credit)

Eilean Donan Castle, Scotland (click for photo credit)

5 thoughts on “Keeping Busy in the Two Week Wait, Part Deux

  1. You have accomplished so much and that is amazing in itself! Great job!!! Don’t forget about the Irish Fertility Stones that are in Castles there when you all go! Good luck with all you do!

Leave a Reply

