DINK Status

This past weekend I was in NYC for work and visiting my little brother. As we were gallivanting around the city, eating delicious meals at posh restaurants, having a drink atop the Met at sunset, and staying out way too late singing karaoke, I realized that I need to appreciate this time in my life, even though it is hard. I’ve spent so much time wishing and hoping to have a baby and very little time thinking about the things I’ll miss once we have a child. I’ve decided to make a real effort to appreciate the things I can do as part of a 30-something DINK couple (dual income, no kids). Let’s be honest – this is probably my way of trying not to cry every time I see a pregnant lady or cute baby.

Vacations, Vacations, Vacations
My hubby and I have done more than our fair share of traveling the world since college. I got the travel bug when I studied abroad in Sydney, Australia my junior year. I was able to sneak away from my studies for side trips to New Zealand and Fiji and fell in love with globe-trotting. Since then, we’ve been to England (twice), France, Monaco, the Vatican, Liechtenstein, Germany, Austria, Switzerland, Italy (three times!), Netherlands, Egypt, the Caribbean, China, Taiwan, Belize, Ireland, Aruba, Greece, Turkey, Spain, and Japan, Alaska, and lots of other fun cities and towns in the U.S. Whew! We’ve had so much fun and learned a lot about other cultures and ourselves. I know a part of me will miss being able to plan a last minute trip to somewhere amazing, but it will be fun to plan some relaxing beach vacations and someday introduce our kids to the amazing places we’ve seen.

Appreciating My Bod
I hear it all the time from my friends: “Your body will NEVER be the same!” While I’m totally fine trading my current physique for saggy boobs and a loose tummy if it means having a family, I’ve been realizing that I should appreciate the time I have left with my figure. Is this means splurging on a new bathing suit and some trips to Anthropologie, so be it!

Having Nice Things/Doing Nice Things
No crying baby at fancy restaurants. No sticky toddler fingers all over the white couch or leather car. Extra income to buy new clothes/shoes/jewelry. Want to stay up late and drink a whole bottle of wine? No problem, I can sleep in. Lots of ME time and US time. All of these things were important to me for a while, but I’d certainly trade them all for a child. I’m sure I’ll look back someday and think how easy we had it during this time. That is, until I remember that I was also a crazy, sad DINK. For now, I’ll get all the amazing sleep I can get.

Getting My Hubby All to Myself
I’m not going to lie – it is a little scary when my friends tell me how much their relationships with their partners changed after having kids. My husband and I have been married for almost six years and have been together for nearly 12 years. We know each other in and out and our lives together have a nice, easy flow. We both work full-time at fairly demanding jobs and understand (most of the time) when the other person is stressed out. We enjoy a lot of the same things and really enjoy each other’s company. In addition to being adorable and life-changing, children are also demanding and have the potential to turn our tidy little lives upside down. I know it won’t be the easiest transition for us, but I have no doubts that it will be so worth it.

Dinner with my little brother in NYC

Dinner with my little brother

Bubbly on the roof of the Met

Bubbly on the roof of the Met

 

Leave a Reply

