IVF Update: Unexpected News

At our Day 6 transfer, the doctor said he guessed we would have at most one embryo to freeze. Well, those remaining four frontrunners must have made some serious progress last night because my nurse called today and said they were able to freeze FOUR embryos! This was totally unexpected and I’m still in a bit of shock. Here is the report:

Transferred:
1 expanded blastocyst, AB

Frozen:
3 expanded blastocysts, BB
1 early blastocyst, AB

I know this is really good news, because it means that at least for the foreseeable future, I won’t have to go through the egg retrieval process again. If this fresh cycle doesn’t work, we’ll have a bunch of chances to try again without all the added stress of stims and surgery. But it also raises a question that infertiles rarely ask themselves…what if everything works? Could we actually have FIVE children? I know the chances of all of these embryos surviving thaw and creating successful pregnancies is very, very slim, but it is possible. I can’t help but already think of these embryos as part of our family. I’m sure once you have a child, that notion is only solidified. Will we feel like our family isn’t truly complete until we give all of these embryos a chance at life?

I’m choosing to see this news as a wonderful blessing — part of the master plan that we do not yet fully understand. This is certainly not the way I pictured building my family (all in one shot!), but it is amazing and beautiful in a way that I can’t quite describe.

16 thoughts on “IVF Update: Unexpected News

Leave a Reply

